CONCACAF W Championship TV schedule

CONCACAF W Championship TV schedule

The CONCACAF W Championship televised schedule features North America’s best women’s national teams in a small tournament setting. However, the importance of competition is not small. The four teams that reach the knockout stages of the CONCACAF W Championship advance to the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. In addition, the winner will automatically receive a seat at the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris and the inaugural CONCACAF W Gold Cup.

While the tournament offers new rewards for success, it’s not the first competition. In fact, it’s one of the older CONCACAF tournaments. Dating back to 1991, the 2022 competition is the 11th edition of the tournament. Not surprisingly, the United States was the dominant side during those years. The United States finished third in 2010 with eight tournament wins. In 1999, the USWNT did not participate. Interestingly, Canada won both competitions, while the United States didn’t lift the trophy.

CONCACAF W championship format

There are only eight teams featured in the CONCACAF W Championship TV schedule. These eight teams were divided into two groups of four based on the FIFA Women’s World Ranking.

For 2022, these groups are made up as follows, with the FIFA Women’s World Ranking in brackets:

Group A United States (1) Mexico (28) Jamaica (51) Haiti (62)
Group B Canada (8) Costa Rica (36) Panama (60) Trinidad and Tobago (70)

After three rounds, the top two teams advance to the knockout stages. In addition, these teams will automatically participate in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023. Third-place finishers will enter an intercontinental playoff to qualify for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

In the CONCACAF W Championship, the knockout stages consist of semi-finals and finals only. It is a single elimination competition.

This year the tournament will be held in the Monterrey area of ​​Mexico. Estadio BBVA, home of Monterrey and a potential venue for games at the 2026 World Cup, hosts many games. This is the second time Mexico has hosted the CONCACAF W Championship. In 2010, Mexico finished second to Canada at the Estadio Quintana Roo in Cancún.

CONCACAF W Championship TV schedule

CBS and Paramount+ own the rights to the CONCACAF W Championship TV programming. Select games will be aired on the CBS Sports Network. However, most games are available on Paramount+.

The tournament begins on America’s Independence Day when USWNT takes on Haiti.

Monday 4th July

Tuesday, July 5th

Thursday July 7th

Friday, July 8th

7:00 p.m. EDT

Trinidad & Tobago WNT vs. Costa Rica WNT


Monday 11 July

Thursday 14 July

Monday 18 July

Leave a Comment