Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway: TV Channels, Live Stream, Schedule, More for 2022

Langley Speedway

(Photo: Langley Speedway)

After a wild Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway, it’s on to Langley Speedway’s prestigious Hampton Heat 200 on Saturday night for the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown.

Located adjacent to NASA’s Langley Research Center, several racing careers have started at the facility since its inception in 1950 as a dirt track. Among the riders who have a Langley championship on their résumé are Tommy Ellis, Lennie Pond, Ray Hendrick and Elton Sawyer.

TIED TOGETHER: Check out the Hampton Heat 200 on FloRacing

Although Langley has not hosted a NASCAR Cup Series race since 1970, the track still hosts many races for various sanctioning bodies and has a competitive weekly division, with the Hampton Heat serving as the crown jewel race each summer.

Langley will be well represented in Saturday’s 200-lap feature by his regular late model stock competitors, all of whom will look to fend off many of the Southeast’s best drivers and add their name to the prestigious list of Hampton Heat winners.

Below is everything you need to know about the Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway.

Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway
Among the 36 entries for the Hampton Heat 200 are track champions Greg Edwards (left) and Brenden Queen (right). (Photo: Langley Speedway)

What TV station is showing the Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway?

All on-track action for the Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway can be followed live on FloRacing, the official streaming homepage for all NASCAR Roots facilities.

The racing action will not be shown on any television network.

Below is FloRacing’s full Hampton Heat 200 coverage schedule.

date start time like watching
Saturday 23 July 2022 6 p.m. ET FloRacing

Full schedule for the Hampton Heat 200

This year’s Hampton Heat 200 takes place on Saturday, July 23rd.

Four distinct divisions comprise the on-track action for the Hampton Heat, including features for Langley’s UCAR, Super Street and Super Truck classes. The end of the evening is the Late Model Stock race over 200 laps.

Below is the full race day schedule at Langley Speedway.

time incident
11 a.m. ET LMSC gates open
11:15 a.m. ET LMSC inspection line open
11:30 a.m. ET LMSC driver, crew chief, spotter meeting
12:30 p.m. ET LMSC open practice
2 p.m. ET LMSC qualifying tires released
3:30 p.m. ET LMSC work completed, all cars go for inspection
4:30 p.m. ET LMSC Hampton Heat 200 Qualifying (scuff-green-white-checkered)
5:15 p.m. ET LMSC autograph session
5:30 p.m. ET Removed LMSC transporter from the infield
6:30 p.m. ET Support division feature races
7:00 p.m. ET LMSC thesis session
8:15 p.m. ET LMSC driver introductions
8:30 p.m. ET LMSC pre-race ceremonies
8:45 p.m. ET Hampton Heat 200

Official format for the Hampton Heat 200

Saturday’s Hampton Heat 200 will be divided into two segments, each approximately 100 laps long.

During the second segment, a controlled caution is thrown at or around round 150. Teams have the option to stay out or pit and make adjustments during this warning, but are not allowed to add additional fuel to the car.

Four tires will be allocated for the Hampton Heat. Precautionary laps count, except during the half-time break and controlled yellows in the second period.

Below is the segment breakdown for the Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway.

stage no Round
stage 1 100 laps (approx., half-time break)
Level 2 100 laps (approx, controlled caution around lap 150)

Hampton Heat 200 Entry List

Three dozen riders are currently registered for Saturday’s Hampton Heat 200.

Leading the contingent of regulars at the Langley circuit is points leader and defending champion Brenden Queen, who has lost just one race at the circuit so far this year. Queen, who won the 2020 Hampton Heat, is joined by other Langley champions such as Matt Waltz, Greg Edwards and Danny Edwards Jr.

The Langley regulars must fend off a talented field of underdogs to keep the Hampton Heat 200 trophy in town. Among them are Layne Riggs and recent Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series champion Peyton Sellers, who are currently separated by just 36 points in the national standings.

Current Virginia Triple Crown leader Jacob Borst is looking for another strong run Saturday night. A local South Boston regular, Borst must quickly adapt to Langley’s flat surface to stay ahead of Sellers, Riggs, Bobby McCarty and the other riders competing in all three stages of the series.

Below is the full entry list for Saturday’s Hampton Heat 200.

car no driver
0 Landon Pembelton
01 Camden Gullie
03 Brenden Queen
05 Mason Bailey
2 Brandon Pierce
2 Matt Waltz
5 Carter Langley
8th Carson Kvapil
12 Austin Thaxton
14 Jared Friar
21 Gregory Edwards
22 Bobby McCarty
24 Mason Diaz
25 Jacob Borst
25 Craig Eastep
26 Danny Edwards Jr.
26 Peyton salesman
29 Casey Wyatt
31 Cole Bruce
41 Davey Callihan
41 Woody Howard
42 Chris Horton Jr.
44 Conner Jones
51 Ryan Matthews
55 Markus Wertz
72 Dean Shiflett
72 Jordan Wood
77 Connor Hall
77 Trevor Ward
78 Matt Carter
81 Mini Tyrrell
88 Thomas Markus
90 Terry Caroll
91 Justin Caroll
95 Sam Yarbrough
99 Layne Riggs
Langley Speedway
Drivers who have visited Victory Lane at the Hampton Heat 200 include Josh Berry, Peyton Sellers and CE Falk III, the latter of whom has three wins in the race. (Photo: Langley Speedway)

Hampton Heat 200 History, Winner

Langley’s local heroes have held up well against outside competition since the inception of the Hampton Heat 200 in 2008.

In the 13-year history of the event, four-time track champion CE Falk III was the most successful driver. Falk won the Hampton Heat in back-to-back years in 2010 and 2011 before adding a final win to his résumé in 2014.

Falk is not one of the drivers registered for Saturday’s Hampton Heat, nor is Josh Berry the youngest winner of the event. Despite this, the field still includes five previous winners in Sellers, Queen, McCarty, Connor Hall and Woody Howard.

Langley regulars and short track veterans alike will try to make their own Hampton Heat 200 history in the sweltering summer heat on Saturday at one of the most grueling late model stock events of the year.

Below is the full list of Hampton Heat 200 winners.

Year winner
2008 NickSmith
2009 Woody Howard
2010 CE Falk III
2011 CE Falk III
2012 Matt Bowling
2013 Peyton salesman
2014 CE Falk III
2015 Lee Pulliam
2016 Not held
2017 Bobby McCarty
2018 Phillip Morris
2019 Connor Hall
2020 Brenden Queen
2021 Josh Berry

Leave a Comment