OTT streaming release time on Netflix as cricket movie hits fans for six

After countless delays, what date and time will hit cricket-based romance Jersey release in Hindi worldwide on Netflix?

The western cinema industry ground to a halt because of the emergence of the coronavirus and the Indian cinema industry was no different; However, some projects were significantly more affected than others.

Jersey was originally scheduled to premiere as early as August 2020 due to the ongoing coronavirus, before future delays pushed the theatrical release to November 2021, then December 2021 and one final time April 14th 2022.

The film eventually hit theaters on April 22ndnd2022, to a solid reception from fans and critics alike, but unfortunately not every expectant fan has been able to make it to their local cinema to enjoy Jersey on the big screen.

The good news is that Jersey is finally set to be released for OTT streaming via Netflix this week, but when will the film premiere worldwide?

Jersey: OTT streaming release date and time

Hit Hindi romantic sports drama Jersey is set to air Friday, April 20thth.

Juggernaut | Official trailer

Like all new Netflix content, apart from the weekly Korean simulcast dramas, Jersey will be released on the streaming platform on May 20 from 12:30 p.m. ISTth.

  • Pacific Time: 12 p.m. PDT
  • Eastern Time: 3 p.m. EDT
  • UK Time: 8am BST
  • European time: 9 a.m. CEST
  • Indian Time: 12:30 PM IST
  • Philippine time: 3:00 p.m. PHT
  • Japan time: 16:00 JST
  • Australian Time: 4:30pm ACST

At the time of writing, it has not been confirmed if Netflix will release Jersey with alternative language options including Tail, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam.

How was Jersey rated by moviegoers?

As soon as Jersey premiered in theaters, the film immediately began hitting six fans. Unfortunately, it didn’t bring enough fans to theaters to really make Jersey a success.

According to Bollywood Hungama, the film has grossed just Rs 27.84 crore at the worldwide box office, significantly less than the reported budget. Per Koimoi: “Although it was a well-made film, it didn’t find any buyers from day one and the situation at the box office continued to deteriorate with each passing day.”

The response from critics and fans was extremely mixed after this first flop; with ratings ranging from 6.7/10 on IMDB and 3.6/5 on The Times of India to an average tomatometer of just 50% and an average viewership rating of 100% on Rotten Tomatoes – that’s quite a swing.

Koimoi gave Jersey a 3.5/5, noting that the film was “a rare and almost perfect blend of drama, (predictable but interesting) game and everything else.”

The same result was seen in the Times of India critic’s summary, which stated: “If you’re expecting heart-pounding cricket moments, you’re probably going to be a bit disappointed.” Again, Bollywood Hungama was rated 3.5/5, while The Indian Express fell to just 2.5/5.

“An emotional ending, even if it feels very short-lived, provides the essential drama that a film like this needs. That and the message that it’s never too late to make your dreams come true. Overall, Jersey looks sincere but lackluster.” – The Indian Express.

Listen to the official soundtrack online

One of the most underrated parts of Jersey is the soundtrack, composed by Sachet-Paramapara with lyrics by Shellee.

Luckily, the entire soundtrack is available to listen to for free via JioSaavn and the Zee Music Company YouTube channel.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, where was A Perfect Pairing filmed? Filming locations for Netflix movies

Leave a Comment