Queen’s Club Championships: Full Draw, Schedule, Prize Money at the 2022 Cinch Championships

With two weeks to go before Wimbledon, the Queen’s Club Championships feature seven days of world-class tennis between some of the sport’s highest-ranking stars.

World No. 6 Casper Ruud travels to London after reaching his first major final at the French Open when he became the 14th victim of Rafael Nadal’s flawless record at the Showpiece in Paris.

With five titles, Andy Murray is the most successful player in Queen’s history – and Britain’s most respected active player will be back in search of a first triumph since 2016.

Want to know when to catch your favorite player in action? Here’s the full draw and the latest schedule.

MORE: French Open 2022: Why are Russian and Belarusian players competing at Roland-Garros but not Wimbledon?

2022 Queen’s Club Championships Draw

Top-ranked home player Cameron Norrie was seeded third and will face off against world No. 21 and former Wimbledon semi-finalist Grigor Dimitrov.

Murray starts against world No. 32 Lorenzo Sonego and defending champion Matteo Berrettini meets British No. 2 Dan Evans.

Ruud meets British number seven Ryan Peniston, who faces one of the toughest tests of his career following a wild card.

Here is the Men’s Singles first round draw (numbers indicate seeding).

Fit result
Casper Ruud (1) vs. Ryan Peniston
Jenson Brooksby vs. Filip Krajinovic
Francisco Cerundolo versus Pedro Martinez
Taylor Fritz (4) against Jack Draper
Sam Querry vs. Diego Schwartzman (5)
Marin Cilic (7) against Liam Broady
Denis Shapovalov (6) against Tommy Paul
Reilly Opelka (8) against Alex de Minaur
Quentin Halys vs Emil Ruusuvuori
Cameron Norrie (3) against Grigor Dimitrov
Frances Tiafoe vs. Stan Wawrinka
Lorenzo Musetti versus Alexander Bublik
Paul Jubb vs. Botic van de Zandschulp
Albert Ramos Vinolas vs Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Andy Murray vs. Lorenzo Sonego
Matteo Berrettini (2) against Dan Evans

When is Andy Murray playing at Queen’s?

World No. 68 Murray is set to take on Italy’s Sonego on Tuesday, June 14, although organizers are unable to confirm a precise schedule in advance due to weather and other conditions.

Starting times on Center Court vary, but games begin between Monday and Friday after 12:00 p.m. BST / 7:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 p.m. AEST, on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. BST / 8:00 a.m. ET / 10:00pm AEST and 1:30pm BST / 8:30am ET / 10:30pm AEST on Sunday.

2022 Queen’s Club Championships schedule

The compact tournament means that players who reach the final eight play back-to-back days at Queen’s.

Finalists have a maximum of eight days between Queen’s and the start of their Wimbledon 2022 campaigns.

round of 32 13-14 June 2022
round of 16 15-16 June
quarter finals 17th of June
semifinals 18th of June
final June 19th

Queen’s Club Championships Prize Money: How much does the winner get?

Winning Queen’s is a lucrative business: the champion is expected to earn more than £340,000 for winning in five games.

The runner-up has the consolation of taking home around £184,000. The total prize pool for the tournament is £1.84 million.

MORE: What are the Queen’s Club Championships? Dates, players and more for the 2022 Cinch Championships Wimbledon Warm-up

Why is it called Queen’s Club?

The club is based in West Kensington, West London, where it has 28 outdoor courts and 10 indoor courts.

Named after Queen Victoria, it was one of the world’s first multi-purpose sports venues when it was founded.

The Lawn Tennis Association sold the club to members for £35million in 2006, avoiding litigation after patrons claimed they did not have the right to put Queen’s up for sale.

Which players have won Queen’s?

Murray has won five singles titles and one doubles title in 15 appearances at Queen’s.

Berrettini’s win in 2021 helped the Italian find the momentum to reach the Wimbledon final the following month, where he was beaten by the impressive Novak Djokovic.

Americans Andy Roddick and John McEnroe have won the tournament four times, as has Australia’s Lleyton Hewitt.

Other legendary names that have triumphed include Jimmy Connors, Ivan Lendl, Boris Becker and Pete Sampras.

Nadal won Queen’s in 2008, beating longtime rival Djokovic in a tight final.

Queen’s is one of the few tournaments Djokovic has repeatedly participated in without winning.

The current world number one was also eliminated in the final in 2018, losing to Marin Cilic despite winning the first set.

Leave a Comment