The PGA TOUR has announced its schedule

The PGA TOUR has announced its 2022-23 season schedule of 47 tournaments. That includes 44 regular season and three FedEx Cup playoffs, culminating in the TOUR Championship August 21-27 at East Lake Golf Club. Upon completion of the calendar for that season, the transition to the calendar year calendar will begin.

PGA TOUR schedule

Things are changing looking ahead to the FedEx Cup Playoffs, and that means only 70 players will compete in the first tournament of qualifiers, the FedEx St. Jude, compared to 125 previously. Only 50 golfers will remain for the BMW Championship (down from 70) and the TOUR Championship will retain the current 30.

The 70 players who qualify for the first playoffs receive a card for the following season. Perhaps the main argument against the investment of the Saudi LIV is the increase in prices at the eight “invitation” events.

His pocket will be between $15 million and $25 million. In those increases we need to include the first two tournaments of the playoffs, the FedEx St. Jude and the BMW, at 20 million. Others also increasing their amount are: The Players (25 million), Sentry Tournament of Champions (15 million), Genesis Invitational (20 million), Arnold Palmer Invitational (20 million), Memorial (20 million), and WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play (20 million).

Then there are the bonuses, which will total 145 million: 75 for the FedEx Cup, 20 for the Comcast Business Tour Top 10 (the top 10 of the regular season in the FedEx rankings before the start of the playoffs), and 50 million for the Player Impact Program (players with more media impact).

The PGA Tour is an organization that oversees the premier professional golf tours in the United States. It is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. Its official name is written in all caps or “PGA TOUR”.

The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968 when it split from the PGA of America, now primarily an association of golf professionals such as masters and club managers. Tournament players initially formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG).

Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA “Tournament Players Division”, a fully autonomous division of the PGA, overseen by a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board.

The name then officially changed to the PGA Tour in 1975. In 1981, he has a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decides to officially change his name. From the end of August of the same year it became “TPA Tour”, which stands for “Tournament Players Association”.

The dispute was settled within seven months and the tour name was changed back to the PGA Tour in March 1982. Due to the multitude of similar names, it is good to explain what the PGA Tour organizes and what does not.

The PGA Tour does not operate any of the Big Four tournaments or the Ryder Cup. The PGA of America, not the PGA Tour, organizes the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship and, together with the PGA European Tour, organizes the Ryder Cup.

The PGA Tour is not affiliated with the women’s US tours, which are controlled by the LPGA. The PGA Tour is also not the official organization that regulates the game of golf in the United States: this is instead the role of the USGA, which also organizes the United States

Open. Instead, the PGA Tour organizes all other golf events week after week, including The Players Championship and the FedEx Cup, as well as the Presidents Cup every two years.

Leave a Comment