When is the next Women’s World Cup? Where is football event

England’s lionesses roared to victory by winning the 2022 European Championship.

They defeated old rivals and eight-time European champions Germany 2-1 after extra time to secure the first major title for an England senior team in 56 years.

On a day that saw 87,192 spectators packed at Wembley, a UEFA tournament record all-time, the Lionesses secured legendary status and a turning point that will continue to propel the growth of women’s football.

With excitement in women’s football at an all-time high, the return of the 2023 World Cup will promise fans as Sarina Wiegman’s side seek further glory.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

England’s Chloe Kelly celebrates with team-mates after scoring the winning goal in the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 final (Getty Images)

Who will host the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. It will be the first jointly organized competition in two nations.

When is the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

The Women’s World Cup takes place from July 20th to August 20th. The tournament will be the largest in women’s football history as the competition expands from 24 teams (2019) to 32 for the first time.

Fans during the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 final (Getty Images)

Which venues will be used for the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup Final will be played at Australia Stadium in Sydney. Here is the full list of the tournament’s host cities and stadiums.

  • Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide
  • Eden Park, Auckland
  • Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
  • Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
  • Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
  • Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne
  • Rectangular Perth Stadium, Perth
  • Stadium Australia, Sydney
  • Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney
  • Wellington Stadium, Wellington

When is the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw?

The final draw for the group stage of the tournament will take place on October 22 at the Aotea Center in Auckland, New Zealand.

The draw will split the 32 teams into four pots based on their FIFA Women’s World Ranking. The participating teams will be drawn into eight groups of four.

Which teams qualified for the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

Host nations Australia and New Zealand have automatically qualified for next summer’s tournament.

England are yet to qualify for the tournament with two games remaining in their qualifying group. However, they have had a very successful qualifying campaign so far, winning eight of their eight games.

The following teams have already qualified for the main tournament:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • China PR
  • Philippines
  • Vietnam
  • Sweden
  • Spain
  • France
  • Denmark
  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Costa Rica
  • Jamaica
  • Zambia
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Colombia
  • Brazil

England’s record at the Women’s World Cup

England have qualified for five of the last eight World Cup tournaments. They have reached the quarterfinals three times and the semifinals twice, most recently in 2019 when they were beaten by eventual winners USA.

Who is the most successful team at the Women’s World Cup?

The USA have been a dominant force in women’s soccer since the inception of the Women’s World Cup in 1991. The USA has won a record four World Cups in 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019.

How to watch the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

Broadcasting rights for the tournament have not yet been announced, but the 2019 edition was televised exclusively by the BBC.

Leave a Comment